Perth Wildcats’ Bryce Cotton claims fourth NBL MVP crown

Perth Wildcats star Bryce Cotton has won his fourth NBL MVP award.

Perth Wildcats star Bryce Cotton has won his fourth NBL MVP award. Photo: Getty

Perth Wildcats star Bryce Cotton can lay claim to being the second-most decorated player in NBL history behind Australian basketball legend Andrew Gaze after winning his fourth league MVP award.

Cotton claimed the league’s highest individual honour again on Monday night, ahead of shortlisted New Zealand Breakers import Parker Jackson-Cartwright and Melbourne United sharpshooter Chris Goulding.

Cotton joins Gaze as the only two players to have won the MVP award more than three times, having previously claimed it in 2018, 2020 and 2021.

Melbourne Tigers great Gaze won the award that is now named in his honour a record seven times, including five seasons in a row from 1994 to 1998.

Cotton led the NBL in scoring again this season – for the seventh time in eight years – averaging 23.15 points per game.

The 31-year-old American guard also averaged 4.3 assists, 3.9 rebounds and 1.6 steals, leading Perth (17-11) to second place on the ladder behind Melbourne.

Cotton missed the Wildcats’ defeat to Tasmania on Sunday because of a knee injury, but he is certain to return for the Finals.

Despite Goulding being overlooked for the MVP gong, Melbourne did not go home empty-handed from the league’s awards ceremony.

Dean Vickerman was named coach of the year for steering United to the top of the regular-season ladder after it finished seventh and missed the finals last year.

Goulding’s teammates Ian Clark and Shea Ili were also recognised, named best sixth man and best defensive player respectively.

Tasmania JackJumpers combo guard Sean Macdonald was named the league’s most improved player, and Illawarra Hawks forward Sam Froling won the Next Generation Award.

NBL award winners

Andrew Gaze MVP Award: Bryce Cotton (Perth Wildcats)

Lindsay Gaze Coach of the Year Award: Dean Vickerman (Melbourne United)

Most Improved Player: Sean Macdonald (Tasmania JackJumpers)

Sixth Man of the Year: Ian Clark (Melbourne United)

Damian Martin Trophy for Best Defensive Player: Shea Ili (Melbourne United)

Next Generation Award: Sam Froling (Illawarra Hawks)

Referee of the Year: Vaughan Mayberry

Fans’ MVP: Bryce Cotton (Perth Wildcats)


Topics: NBL
Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter.
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.