Cam Waters wins in Perth after Chaz Mostert time penalty

Cam Waters has taken out the second Supercars race in WA, his first of the season.

Cam Waters has taken out the second Supercars race in WA, his first of the season. Photo: Getty

Cam Waters has broken through for his first win of the Supercars season after rival Chaz Mostert was slapped with a five-second penalty for an unsafe release in Perth.

Red-hot Mostert had claimed the checkered flag at Wanneroo Raceway on Sunday after he surged past pole-sitter Waters to take top spot, but the victory would not come to fruition after pit lane trouble in lap 29.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United ace was relegated to second following a time penalty for a near-collision with Waters’ Tickford teammate Thomas Randle.

“That sucks. I didn’t expect us to be really close with anybody else, so we’ll have to go back and understand,” Mostert told Fox Sports.

“I probably got a little bit hesitant. The radio call was ‘merge, merge, merge’. I swear I was clear.

“I feel robbed. I would’ve loved to win today but it wasn’t meant to be.”

In the end, Waters was declared the winner – his first victory after three pole positions – of the 55-lap race, with Triple Eight gun Will Brown in third.

Competition leader Brown was handed a five-second penalty after bumping then-third placer Randle off-track, but the punishment mattered little.

Nick Percat also copped a time penalty following a collision with Jack Le Brocq.

The first-year Matt Stone Racing driver was handed a 15-second penalty after shunting Le Brocq off the track on lap nine.

Le Brocq’s Chevrolet Camaro subsequently caught on fire but he was able to resume racing, finishing last in 23rd.

Meanwhile, Percat slumped to 21st place.

Erebus teammate and reigning champion Brodie Kostecki did not finish after a coolant issue derailed his race on lap 21.

Race 10 results

1. Cam Waters (Tickford Racing)

2. Chaz Mostert (Walkinshaw Andretti United)

3. Will Brown (Triple Eight Race Engineering)

4. Will Davison (Dick Johnson Racing)

5. Thomas Randle (Tickford Racing).

Championship standings

1. Will Brown – 1081 pts

2. Broc Feeney – 945 pts

3. Chaz Mostert – 906 pts

4. Cam Waters – 700 pts

5. Matthew Payne – 690 pts.

Topics: Supercars
Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter.
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.