Best and fairest Anderson pride of the Lions

Ally Anderson, the AFL’s best and fairest winner for season seven, is seen on the live-cross during the awards ceremony at Melbourne's Crown casino.

Ally Anderson, the AFL’s best and fairest winner for season seven, is seen on the live-cross during the awards ceremony at Melbourne's Crown casino. Photo: Getty

Brisbane onballer Ally Anderson has won the AFLW best-and-fairest award as she prepares for Sunday’s grand final against Melbourne.

Anderson was voted best afield in the last round against Collingwood to give her 21 votes, two clear of Richmond’s pre-count favourite Monique Conti.

Teammate Emily Bates, who won last season’s award, presented the medal to Anderson at a team function.

The Lions players did not travel to Tuesday night’s W awards night in Melbourne, staying at home as they prepare to host the grand final at their new Springfield headquarters.

Anderson, a 2021 premiership player, polled three votes in her last three games to secure the award for the first time.

She was an All-Australian in 2019, but was not among the four Brisbane players who were named in this season’s All-Australian lineup.

Ally Anderson won the award by two votes from Richmond’s Monique Conti. Photo: Getty

Four players could have won heading into the last round of voting, with Conti polling two.

Adelaide’s Ebony Marinoff was voted best afield to finish third on 18 votes.

Essendon star Maddy Prespakis also polled three votes to be fourth on 17 and Melbourne’s Olivia Purcell was fifth with 16.

Earlier Emma Kearney’s AFLW All-Australian streak continued, with the North Melbourne captain the only player picked for all seven seasons.

Kearney was named as a defender in the 21-player honorary team.

Also at Tuesday night’s W awards, Port Adelaide onballer Hannah Ewings was named the season’s Rising Star.

Kearney switched from the Western Bulldogs to the Kangaroos when they joined the league in 2019 and earlier this month was also appointed to their AFL team as a development coach..

Teammate and star midfielder Jasmine Garner made her fifth-straight All-Australian team, while Adelaide midfielder Ebony Marinoff also was picked for the fifth time.

Garner named captain of All-Australian team

Garner was named captain and Brisbane defender Bre Koenen the vice-captain.

Grand final host Brisbane and last season’s premier Adelaide led the selections with four players apiece.

Prespakis and her younger sister, Geelong speedster Georgie, are the first siblings to make an AFLW All-Australian team.

Ewings played all 10 games in Port’s inaugural AFLW season and polled 41 votes to easily win the award ahead of teammate Abbey Dowrick’s 22.

Rounding out the top three was another expansion team player, with Hawthorn’s Jasmine Fleming polling 17.

Melbourne players, including captain Daisy Pearce, sat in a separate room at the vote count ahead of Sunday’s grand final as a COVID-19 measure.

Geelong forward Chloe Scheer made the All-Australian team and also won the mark of the season award, as Gold Coast’s Ashanti Bush was awarded goal of the season.

AFLW All-Australian umpires were named for the first time – Thomas Chrystie (field), Trent Bowes (boundary), and Adam Stegar (goal).


1. Ally Anderson (Bris) 21 votes

2. Monique Conti (Rich) 19

3. Ebony Marinoff (Adel) 18

4. Maddy Prespakis (Ess) 17

5. Olivia Purcell (Melb) 16


Backs: Chelsea Biddell (Adel) Bre Koenen (Bris, vice-captain) Elish Sheerin (Rich) Katie Lynch (WB) Emma Kearney (NM)

Midfielders: Anna Hatchard (Adel) Monique Conti (Rich) Georgie Prespakis (Geel) Breann Moody (Carl) Jasmine Garner (NM, captain) Ebony Marinoff (Adel)

Forwards: Kate Hore (Melb) Jesse Wardlaw (Bris) Maddy Prespakis (Ess) Courtney Wakefield (Rich) Chloe Scheer (Geel)

Interchange: Olivia Purcell (Melb) Natalie Grider (Bris) Amy McDonald (Geel) Chelsea Randall (Adel) Greta Bodey (Bris).


1. Hannah Ewings (PA 41 votes

2. Abbey Dowrick (PA) 22

3. Jasmine Fleming (Haw) 17



Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.