Socceroo Craig Goodwin and Matildas’ Alex Chidiac win A-League top honours

Adelaide's Craig Goodwin has won the Johnny Warren Medal, the award for ALM player of the season.

Adelaide's Craig Goodwin has won the Johnny Warren Medal, the award for ALM player of the season. Photo: AAP

Socceroos star Craig Goodwin and Matildas dynamo Alex Chidiac have claimed top honours at the A-Leagues’ Dolan Warren Awards.

Adelaide United skipper Goodwin had a hand in everything good the Reds achieved in their third-placed season, scoring 15 goals and notching 11 assists to claim the Johnny Warren Medal.

It capped off a year where he scored against France and forced an own goal against Argentina to play a key role in the Socceroos’ run to the World Cup round of 16 in Qatar.

Meanwhile Chidiac won the Julie Dolan Medal despite only playing 13 of Melbourne Victory’s 20 regular-season games, on loan from NWSL club Racing Louisville.

The attacking midfielder scored six goals and was a creative force during her stint at the Victory.

Chidiac, 24, has largely been used off the bench by the Matildas as an impact substitute but is expected to be named in a Women’s World Cup squad for the first time for July’s tournament on home soil.

Both Goodwin and Chidiac claimed their respective awards for the first time.

Melbourne City breakout sensation Jordan Bos was named ALM young player of the season ahead of playing in Saturday’s grand final against Central Coast.

Sydney FC midfielder Sarah Hunter, 19, earned the ALW honour after a standout campaign for the premiers.

Western United boss Mark Torcaso won ALW coach of the season for leading the newcomers to second place and a grand final berth in their first season.

Adelaide mentor Carl Veart landed the ALM award for steering the Reds to third on the table.

Western Sydney shotstopper Lawrence Thomas won the golden glove as ALM goalkeeper of the year, while United’s Hillary Beall won the ALW equivalent.

Chris Beath, who announced he will retire after officiating Saturday’s ALM grand final, was named men’s referee of the season with Casey Reibelt claiming the ALW award.

Roll of honour

Johnny Warren Medal: Craig Goodwin (Adelaide United)

Julie Dolan Medal: Alex Chidiac (Melbourne Victory)

Men’s young footballer of the year: Jordan Bos (Melbourne City)

Women’s young footballer of the year: Sarah Hunter (Sydney FC)

Men’s coach of the year: Carl Veart (Adelaide)

Women’s coach of the year: Mark Torcaso (Western United)

Men’s golden glove: Lawrence Thomas (Western Sydney Wanderers)

Women’s golden glove: Hillary Beall (WU)

Men’s Golden Boot: Jamie Maclaren (City)

Women’s Golden Boot: Hannah Keane (WU)

Men’s goal of the year: Giordano Colli (Perth Glory)

Women’s goal of the year: Madison Haley (Sydney)

Men’s save of the year: Andrew Redmayne (Sydney)

Women’s save of the year: Hilary Beall (WU)

Men’s referee of the year: Chris Beath

Women’s referee of the year: Casey Reibelt

Men’s fair play award: Brisbane Roar

Women’s fair play award: Canberra United

Men’s fan player of the year: Oskar Zawada (Wellington Phoenix)

Women’s fan player of the year: Maria Jose Rojas (City).


Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.