The institutions with no plans to pay child sex abuse survivors’ redress

Community split: Protestors were a regular feature outside Cardinal George Pell's court hearings.

Community split: Protestors were a regular feature outside Cardinal George Pell's court hearings. Photo: AAP

Forty-nine churches and institutions have made no indication they will pay child sex abuse survivors through the National Redress Scheme.

Another 61 are yet to sign up but plan to do so, the Department of Social Services revealed on Thursday.

Social Services Minister Paul Fletcher said naming the institutions would provide transparency for survivors considering applying for redress payments.

“While this published list covers institutions named by the royal commission, there are likely to be other institutions which were not named where abuse occurred,” Mr Fletcher said on Thursday.

The scheme can offer counselling, a direct response from responsible institutions and a redress payment.

Institutions that have made no indication they will sign up include Jehovah’s Witnesses, numerous Presbyterian churches, St Johns Ambulance, Tennis NSW, Swimming Australia, Football NSW, and Hunter Aboriginal Children’s Services.

No plan to sign up:

  1. Australian Indigenous Ministries
  2. Baptists QLD
  3. Baptists VIC
  4. Brisbane Grammar
  5. Catholic – Augustinians – Order of Saint Augustine
  6. Catholic – Blessed Sacrament Fathers
  7. Catholic – Cistercian Monks
  8. Catholic – Daughters of Charity
  9. Catholic – Daughters of Our Lady of Compassion
  10. Catholic – Eparchy of St Peter and Paul of Melbourne
  11. Catholic – Faithful Companions of Jesus
  12. Catholic – Franciscan Sisters of the Heart of Jesus
  13. Catholic – Loreto Sisters – Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary
  14. Catholic – Missionary Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception
  15. Catholic – Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart
  16. Catholic – Order of Brothers of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary of Mt Carmel (Camelites)
  17. Catholic – Order of Friars Minor Conventual
  18. Catholic – Redemptorists – Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer
  19. Catholic – Resurrection Sisters
  20. Catholic – Salvatorian Fathers – Society of the Divine Saviour
  21. Catholic – Secular Institute of the Schoenstatt Sisters of Mary
  22. Catholic – Servite Friars – Order of Servants of Mary
  23. Catholic – Sisters of Nazareth
  24. Catholic – SDC Brothers – Society of Christian Doctrine
  25. Catholic – The Maronite Sisters of the Holy Family
  26. Church of England Boys’ Society
  27. Churches of Christ institutions in Australia
  28. Disability Trust and Interchange Shoalhaven
  29. Fairbridge Society
  30. Football NSW
  31. Gold Coast Family Support Group (now FSG Australia)
  32. Hunter Aboriginal Children’s Services (HACS)
  33. Jehovah’s Witnesses
  34. North Coast Children’s Home
  35. Presbyterian Church ACT
  36. Presbyterian Church NSW
  37. Presbyterian Church NT
  38. Presbyterian Church SA
  39. Presbyterian Church TAS
  40. Presbyterian Church WA
  41. RG Dance Pty Ltd
  42. Satyanada Yoga Ashram
  43. St Johns Ambulance
  44. Swimming Australia
  45. Tennis NSW
  46. The King’s School, Parramatta
  47. The Legacy Clubs in Australia (The Legacy Club of Brisbane is participating)
  48. Yeshiva Centre and the Yeshiva College Bondi

Mr Fletcher said 27 non-government institutions have joined, including seven who signed up on Thursday.

The federal government launched the scheme in July, but only 51 payments had been made as at February 1 after eight months and 2728 applications. The average payment was $79,035.

There were 14 payments up to $50,000, 34 payments between $50,000 and $100,000 and fewer than 10 payments up to $150,000.

Another 19 offers had been made to survivors, who have six months to accept or ask for a review.

Plan to sign up but haven’t yet:

  1. Anglican Diocese of Bathurst
  2. Anglican Diocese of Bunbury
  3. Anglican Diocese of Canberra Goulburn
  4. Anglican Diocese of Gippsland
  5. Anglican Diocese of Grafton
  6. Anglican Diocese of Melbourne
  7. Anglican Diocese of Newcastle
  8. Anglican Diocese of North Queensland
  9. Anglican Diocese of Riverina
  10. Anglican Diocese of Sydney
  11. Anglican Diocese of Tasmania
  12. Anglican Diocese of The Murray
  13. Anglican Diocese of Wangaratta
  14. Australian Christian Churches
  15. Australian Institute of Music
  16. Baptists NSW/ACT
  17. Baptists NT
  18. Baptists SA
  19. Barnardos Australia
  20. Catholic – Australian Ursulines
  21. Catholic – Benedictine Community of New Norcia
  22. Catholic – Brigidine Sisters
  23. Catholic – Capuchin Franciscan Friars
  24. Catholic – Columban Fathers – St Columban’s Mission Society
  25. Catholic – Dominican Province of the Assumption (Dominican Friars)
  26. Catholic – Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and Solomon Islands
  27. Catholic – Franciscan Friars
  28. Catholic – Good Samaritan Education
  29. Catholic – Good Samaritan Sisters – Institute of the Sisters of the Good Samaritan of the order of St Benedict
  30. Catholic – Good Shepherd Sisters – Our Lady of Charity of the Good Shepherd (Sisters of the Good Shepherd)
  31. Catholic – MercyCare WA
  32. Catholic – Missionaries of God’s Love
  33. Catholic – Missionaries of the Sacred Heart
  34. Catholic – Missionary Society of St Paul
  35. Catholic – Norbertine Canons – Canons Regular of Premontre
  36. Catholic – Passionist Fathers
  37. Catholic – Patrician Brothers – Congregation of the Brothers of St Patrick
  38. Catholic – Presentation Sisters – Queensland
  39. Catholic – Presentation Sisters – Victoria I
  40. Catholic – Salesians of Don Bosco
  41. Catholic – Scalabrinians – Pious Society of St Charles
  42. Catholic – Sisters of Charity of Australia
  43. Catholic – Sisters of Mercy – North Sydney
  44. Catholic – Sisters of Mercy Parramatta
  45. Catholic – Sister of St Joseph (Lochinvar)
  46. Catholic – Society of Catholic Apostolic Australia (Pallottine Fathers and Brothers or Pallottine Community)
  47. Catholic – Society of the Divine Word
  48. Catholic – Society of Saint Vincent de Paul
  49. Catholic – St John of God Brothers, also known as the Hospitaller Order of St John of God (the Hospitallers)
  50. Catholic – Vincentians – The Congregation of the Mission (Vincentian Fathers)
  51. CAFS – Children and Family Services Ballarat
  52. Knox Grammar School
  53. Presbyterian Church VIC
  54. Seventh Day Adventist
  55. Scouts ACT
  56. Scouts NT
  57. Scouts QLD
  58. Scouts TAS
  59. The Hutchins School
  60. Uniting Church in Australia
  61. Yeshivah Centre and the Yeshivah College Melbourne

Call the National Redress Scheme on 1800 737 377.

If you need help, contact Lifeline on 13 11 14, Kids Helpline on 1800 55 1800 or 1800 Respect.

This article has been updated to reflect that Baptists NSW/ACT has committed to joining the scheme.

Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.