Turnbull’s cabinet reshuffle



Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has revealed a new-look ministry, introducing a host of new faces to cabinet.

Mr Turnbull fronted media in Sydney on Saturday to announce the cabinet reshuffle, which comes after a series of retirements and resignations since late December.

• One promise Malcolm Turnbull surely regrets
• Barnaby Joyce crowned National Party leader
• Labor to restrict negative gearing

Mal Brough resigns ahead of reshuffle

“The new ministerial lineup that I’m announcing today is a dynamic team which combines youth, new talent, experience, continuity and a real sense of innovation and enterprise,” Mr Turnbull said.

Fiona Nash promotion

Fiona Nash takes on regional development and regional communications.

The PM farewelled “towering figures” Warren Truss and Andrew Robb and said the reshuffling process had “underlined the enormous talent we have in our party room”.

He also highlighted that there would now be six women in cabinet and 10 in the executive, with both Deputy Leaders women for the first time in Coalition’s history.

The changes are as follows:

• Deputy Nationals leader Fiona Nash to take on regional development (replacing Warren Truss) and regional communications, as well as keeping her role in rural health.
• Liberal MP Steve Ciobo to take on trade and international development and work with special envoy Andrew Robb, who recommended him for the role.
• Nationals MP Darren Chester to take on transport and infrastructure.
Barnaby Joyce to be sworn in as Deputy Prime Minster and to retain role as Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources.
Mathias Cormann to formally retain his position as Special Minister of State, as well as his existing role as Finance Minister.
Scott Ryan to be the minister for vocational education and skills.
Alan Tudge to be the Minister for Human Services.
Dan Tehan to be the Minister for Defence Materiel and Veterans Services.
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells to be the Minister for International Development and the Pacific.
Matt Canavan to be Minister for Northern Australia.
Keith Pitt to be Assistant Minister to Deputy PM.
Craig Laundy to be Assistant Minister for Multicultural Affairs.
Jane Prentice to be Assistant Minister for Disability Services.
Angus Taylor to be Assistant Minister to PM, Cities and Digital Transformation.
Peter Hendy to be Assistant Minister for Finance and Assistant Cabinet Secretary.
• Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister James McGrath will take on additional duties as the Assistant Minister for Immigration.
• Nationals MP Michael McCormack to be Assistance Defence Minister.

The swearing in ceremony will take place on Thursday morning.


Darren Chester has said he’d vote in favour of same-sex marriage. AAP

The reshuffle follows the departure of Human Services Minister Stuart Robert, who resigned over a China trip with a Liberal party donor, and Cities Minister Jamie Briggs, who resigned over a Hong Kong bar scandal.

Also on Saturday, Opposition Leader Bill Shorten used the NSW Labor conference to unveil plans to change negative gearing rules for property purchases.

He said the move would “put the great Australian dream back within the reach of the working and middle-class”.

– with ABC

Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter.
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.