Dance remains king as Rufus du Sol, Flume win at APRA awards

Electronic outfit RUFUS DU SOL won the Songwriter of the Year at the APRA Awards.

Electronic outfit RUFUS DU SOL won the Songwriter of the Year at the APRA Awards.

Musicians Rufus du Sol, Flume and Sampa the Great have taken out some of the many gongs at the APRA Music Awards.

It was a big night for electronic music as Flume and co-writer Sarah Aarons won Song of the Year with Say Nothing (feat MAY-A), the lead single from Flume’s third studio album.

Electronic dance legends Rufus du Sol – made up of Jonathon George, James Hunt and Tyrone Lindqvist – won Songwriter of the Year, and also took home the Most Performed Dance/Electronic category with On My Knees.

“We had a lot of fun writing something that was darker, driving and a little more edgy, it’s definitely one of the most banging tracks on the record,” Hunt said in a statement as the band is currently touring Mexico.

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year went to Zambian-born musician Sampa the Great.

The awards in Sydney on Thursday night also featured a surprise video message from Ringo Starr, who (after some drumming of course) gave a tribute to his bandmate Colin Hay, who received the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

“You deserve it and I love you, and you are a great member of Ringo and the All Starr Band and it’s a great pleasure being on stage with you,” Ringo said.

“I am sure the people tonight will enjoy you as much as I do. I say peace and love to Australia.”

The former Men At Work vocalist Hay joined King Stingray onstage for their version of the classic Down Under (Under One Sun).

The late promoter Colleen Ironside was honoured posthumously, sharing the Ted Albert award with Hay.

The Kid LAROI won Most Performed Australian Work for Stay, which he co-wrote with Justin Bieber.

Songwriter Miiesha took out Most Performed R&B/Soul Work, and Sunshine Coast rockers The Chats won Most Performed Rock Work, the first APRA awards for both.

Other first-time winners were Xavier Rudd with the Most Performed Blues and Roots Work, and Casey Barnes with Most Performed Country Work.

The awards were hosted by Celia Pacquola with guest presenters Fred Leone and Henry Wagons.


Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year:  Say Nothing (feat. MAY-A) by Flume, co-written with Sarah Aarons

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music: Colin Hay and Colleen Ironside

Songwriter of the Year: Rufus du Sol

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year: Sampa the Great

Most Performed Australian Work: Stay by The Kid LAROI and Justin Bieber

Most Performed Alternative Work: Hurtless by Dean Lewis, co-written with Jon Hume

Most Performed Blues and Roots Work: We Deserve To Dream by Xavier Rudd

Most Performed Country Work: God Took His Time On You by Casey Barnes, co-written with Kaci Brown and Samuel Gray

Most Performed Dance/Electronic Work: On My Knees by Rufus du Sol

Most Performed Hip-Hop/Rap Work: Let’s Trot! by Brothers and Joel Fletcher

Most Performed Pop Work: Stay by The Kid LAROI and Justin Bieber

Most Performed R&B/Soul Work: Still Dream by Miiesha, co-written with Lucy Blomkamp and Stephen Collins

Most Performed Rock Work: Struck By Lightning by The Chats

Most Performed Australian Work Overseas: Dance Monkey by Tones And I

Most Performed International Work: As It Was by Harry Styles, co-written with Thomas Hull and Tyler Johnson

Licensee of the Year: Triple M.


Stay informed, daily
A FREE subscription to The New Daily arrives every morning and evening.
The New Daily is a trusted source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. Read our editorial charter.
Copyright © 2024 The New Daily.
All rights reserved.